Plant Pathology and Microbiology (PLPM)

Website:
http://plantpathology.tamu.edu/
Phone Number:
979-845-7311
Fax Number:
979-845-6483
Physical Location:
L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843
Mailing Address:
Texas A&M University
2132 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-2132
Unit Head:

Leland Pierson

WonBo Shim

Entities:
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M University
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service
Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Employees

Name Position Contact Location

Abou Zaid, Sherin

Postdoctoral Research Associate

sherin.abouzaid@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Adhikari, Binita

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

binita.adhikari@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Ahn, Ezekiel

Postdoctoral Research Associate

ezekiel.ahn@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Alabi, Olufemi

Specializations: Biodiversity, Food, Genetic Diversity, International Development, Invasive Species, Pathogen Detection, Plant Viruses

Assistant Professor & Extension Specialist Plant Pathology & Microbiology

Weslaco Research and Extension Center (affiliated)

olufemi.alabi@ag.tamu.edu

956-968-5581 (p)

956-969-5639 (f)

2401 E. Hwy 83
District 12 Office - South
Weslaco, TX 78596

Amerigian, Zoe

Research Specialist I

zoe.amerigian@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Antony Babu, Sanjay

Assistant Professor

sanjay.antonybabu@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Appel, David

Specializations: Environment, Food, Forest Pathology, Invasive Species, Plant Disease Control, Plant Disease Epidemiology, Sustainability

Professor and Extension Specialist

Graduate Faculty

david.appel@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8273 (p)

979-845-6499 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Arreola Vargas, Jorge

Program Aide

jorge.arreolavargas@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Arthur, Erin

Graduate Assistant Teaching

earthur@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77845

Atallah, Osama

Visiting Scholar

osama.atallah@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Bakker, Christopher

Student Research Assistant

chris_bakker1@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Bedsole, Oliver

Graduate Assistant Teaching

olib@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Bennett, John

Graduate Assistant - Research

jsbennett@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Berg, Katherine

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

katherine.berg@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Bouse, Sonya

Business Coordinator II

AgriLife Business Services (affiliated)

sonya.bouse@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd, Ste 318
College Station, TX 77843

Calderara, Thomas

Student Assistant

tommycalderara@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

1500 Research Pkwy A130
College Station, TX 77845

Chagoya, Jennifer

Technician III

Lubbock Research and Extension Center (affiliated)

jennifer.chagoya@ag.tamu.edu

806-746-6101 (p)

806-746-6528 (f)

1102 East FM 1294
Lubbock, TX 79403-6603

Chappell, Thomas

Assistant Professor

thomas.chappell@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Chen, Kainan

Graduate Assistant - Research

kainan@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Cochran, Kimberly

Assistant Professor and Extension Plant Pathologist

District 10 Office - Southwest (affiliated)

Extension Specialist

kimberly.cochran@ag.tamu.edu

830-988-6151 (p)

830-278-4008 (f)

1619 Garner Field Road
Uvalde, TX 78801

Cook, Connor

Student Extension Assistant

Student Technician

4-H and Youth Development (affiliated)

4-H and Youth Development

connor.cook@ag.tamu.edu

979-314-1485 (p)

979-845-6495 (f)

1470 William D Fitch Parkway
College Station, TX 77845

Dai, Susie

Associate Professor

susie.dai@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843-2132

Deromedi, Cara

Graduate Assistant Teaching

cderomedi@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77845

Ebbole, Daniel

Specializations: Environment, Food, Food Safety, International Development, Metabolism, Microbiology, Plant Protection, Sustainability, Technology And Development

Professor

Graduate Faculty

daniel.ebbole@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Ellison, Katy

Senior Business Administrator I

AgriLife Business Services (affiliated)

kathryn.ellison@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7313 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Fall, Coumba

Graduate Assistant Research

coumba@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Farmer, Nicholas

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

nfarmer@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Gil, Xavier

Extension Assistant

xavier.gil@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Goetze, Paul

Extension Assistant

paul.goetze@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Gomez, Cecilia Villegas Gomez

Technician II

cecilia.gomez@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

2401 E Business 83
Weslaco, TX 78596

Gonzalez, Carlos

Professor

carlos.gonzalez@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Gonzalez, Joe

Technican I

joe.gonzalez@ag.tamu.edu

830-988-6153 (p)

1619 Garner Field Road
Uvalde, TX 78801

Gregory, Tristan

Research Assistant

tristan.gregory@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Hartman, Monica

Visiting Lecturer

monica.hartman@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Herath, Venura

Post Doctoral Research Associate

venura.herath@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Hernandez, Regina

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

reginahern1218@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

956-969-5620 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Hu, Cheng

Graduate Assistant - Research

chenghu@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Huang, Pei-Cheng

Post Doctoral Research Associate

pei-cheng.huang@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-846-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Isakeit, Thomas

Specializations: Chemical Control, Corn, Cotton, Cultural Controls, Disease Prevention, Field Crops, Food, Fungicide Resistance Management, Host Resistance, Invasive Diseases, Mycotoxins, Sorghum, Soybeans, Vegetables

Professor and Extension Specialist

Graduate Faculty

thomas.isakeit@ag.tamu.edu

979-862-1340 (p)

979-845-6499 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Jo, Yk

Specializations: Disease Prevention, Environment, Food, Food Safety And Technology, Fungicide, Mycotoxin, Nematicide, Rice, Seed Treatment, Turfgrass

Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Extension Specialist; Graduate Faculty

yk.jo@ag.tamu.edu

979-862-1758 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Johnson, Brianna

Student Assistant

brianna.johnson@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Kenerley, Charles

Specializations: Biological Control, Disease Prevention, Ecosystem, Environment, Food, Induced Systemic Resistance, Rhizosphere, Secondary Metabolites, STEM Education, Sustainability, Water

Professor

Associate Department Head; Graduate Faculty

charles.kenerley@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Knackstadt, Samantha

Extension Assistant

samantha.knackstadt@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

1500 Research Pkwy A130
College Station, TX 77840

Kolomiets, Elena

Technical Lab Coordinator

elena.kolomiets@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Kolomiets, Mike

Professor

mike.kolomiets@ag.tamu.edu

979-458-4624 (p)

PLPM Building, Room 113B
College Station, TX 77843

Korn, Abby

Postdoctoral Extension Associate

abby.korn@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Lai, Jingru

Technician III

jingru.lai@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Li, Qiang

Scientist I

qiang.li@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
2132 Tamu
College Station, TX 77843

Li, Xiaohan

Graduate Assistant - Research

lixiaohan@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Libby, Matthew

Student Research Assistant

somethingtexaslike@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Lin, Furong

Research Associate

furong.lin@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Long, Bin

Graduate Assistant - Research

binlong@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Lyuksyutova, Elena

Technician II

elena.lyuksyutova@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Magill, Clint

Specializations: Biodiversity, Disease Prevention, Environment, Food, Food Safety, Grain Mold Resistance, Health, Invasive Species, Metabolism, Oomycetes DNA, Pathogen Races And Distribution, Plant Breeding, Plant Host Resistance, Resistance Genes

Professor

Graduate Faculty

clint.magill@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Marlino, Maggie

Technician I

maggie.marlino@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Martin, Tim

Graduate Assistant Teaching

tkmart1@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Mcbride, Sheila

Extension Program Specialist I

Program Specialist

sheila.mcbride@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8032 (p)

979-845-6499 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

McCallum, Krista

Administrative Coordinator I

krista.mccallum@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

McKenzie, Zen

Student Assistant

zenmckeyy14@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Monclova-Santana, Cecilia

Assistant Professor & Extension Specialist

District 02 Office - South Plains (affiliated)

Extension Specialist

cecilia.monclova-san@ag.tamu.edu

806-746-6101 (p)

806-723-8499 (f)

1102 E. Drew Street
Lubbock, TX 79403-6653

Mukherjee, Manjari

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

mukh@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Murdock, Samuel

Program Coordinator II

samuel.murdock@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Nagy, Elek

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

eleknagy@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6305 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Neal, Brian

Research Assistant

brian.neal@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Nelson, Bill

Student Assistant

billnelson@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Newhouse, Thomas

Student Extension Assistant

gnewhouse@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

1500 Research Pkwy A130
College Station, TX 77845

Nobles, Taylor

Business Coordinator I

AgriLife Business Services (affiliated)

taylor.nobles@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8282 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd, Ste 305
College Station, TX 77843

Obasa, Ken

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu

806-677-5600 (p)

6500 Amarillo BLVD West
Amarillo, TX 79106

Odvody, Gary

Specializations: Disease Prevention, Food, Plant Pathology

Associate Professor

Corpus Christi Research and Extension Center (affiliated)

Graduate Faculty

gary.odvody@ag.tamu.edu

361-265-9201 (p)

10345 State Hwy 44
Corpus Christi, TX 78406-1412

Olawole, Olakunle

Post Doctoral Research Associate

olakunle.olawole@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8462 (p)

2132 Tamu
496 Olsen BLVD
College Station, TX 778430001

Ong, Kevin

Specializations: Economy, Environment, Invasive Species, Phytoplasma, Plant Breeding, Plant Diseases, Plant Quarantine, Sustainability, Urbanization And Land Use

Professor and Associate Department Head

Associate Department Head; Graduate Faculty

kevin.ong@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-4751 (p)

304 Plant Pathology & Microbiology Bldg
496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Ouro-Djobo, Ashrafou

Graduate Assistant (Research)-Doctoral Level

Weslaco Research and Extension Center (affiliated)

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

aourodjobo@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Overby, Courtney

Business Associate II

courtney.overby@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

130B Centeq
College Station, TX 77843

Peterson, Hannah

Technician II

hannah.peterson@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Pierson, Leland

Specializations: Biodiversity, Environment, Food, Food Safety, Health, Integrated Pest Management, Microbial Ecology, Microbial Signaling And Biofilms, Plant And Human Disease Prevention, Plant Breeding, Soil And Rhizosphere Ecology, Sustainability, Sustainable Agriculture, Water

Head of Department Plant Pathology and Microbiology

leland.pierson@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6499 (f)

PLPM Building, Room 314
College Station, TX 77843

Prom, Louis

Non-Affiliated Student Assistant

kajacjr@gmail.com

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Prom, Sandria

Research Assistant

sandria.prom@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Ravindran, Aravind

Visiting Scientist

aravind.ravindran@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Rodriguez, Rebecca

Extension Assistant

rebecca.rodriguez@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8032 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

1500 Research Pkwy A130
College Station, TX 77843

Sada Guerra, Rebeca

Student Worker

ros8008@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd., Suite 300
College Station, TX 77843

Scholthof, Herman

Specializations: Biotechnology, Disease Prevention, Environment, Food, Food Safety And Technology, Health, Virology

Professor

Graduate Faculty

herman.scholthof@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Scholthof, Karen-Beth

Specializations: History of Plant Pathology, History Of Science, Plant Virology, Plant Viruses, Tobacco mosaic virus, Virus-host interactions

Professor

Graduate Faculty

karen.scholthof@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

Plant Pathology Building
496 Olsen Blvd., Room 333E
College Station, TX 77843

Selman, Samantha

Graduate Student

sselman1@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Shahid, Muhammad

Fulbright Visiting Scholar

muhammad.shahid@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Shaw, Brian

Professor

brian.shaw@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Shim, WonBo

Specializations: Disease Prevention, Food, Fungi, Genomics, Microbial Pathogens, Mycotoxins

Professor and Associate Department Head

Graduate Faculty

wonbo.shim@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Starr, James

Professor Emeritus

j-starr@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Stoddard, Kati

Instructional Assistant Professor

kati.stoddard@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Sturdivant, Maxwell

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

msturdi@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Svajda, Cooper

Research Assistant

cooper.svajda@ag.tamu.edu

979-458-6376 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

Plant Pathology Building, Room 303
College Station, TX 77843

Thomas, Vanessa

Graduate Assistant Teaching

vanessa.thomas01@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Topcu, Ilksen

Graduate Assistant Research

ilksen.topcu@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Ueckert, Jake

Extension Associate

jake.ueckert@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Uribe, Pedro

Program Specialist III

pedro.uribe@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8000 (p)

1500 Research Parkway
A130
College Station, TX 77845

Urrutia, Cesar

Graduate Assistant - Teaching

curru001@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Vann, Troy

Facilities Coordinator III

troy.vann@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Verchot, Jm

Special Assistant To The Vice Chancellor

jeanmarie.verchot@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-7311 (f)

498 John Kimbrough Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Vitacco, Amanda

Extension Program Specialist - I

amanda.vitacco@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-8032 (p)

1500 Research Pkwy A130
College Station, TX 77845

Wagner, Tanya

Postdoctoral Research Associate

tanya.wagner@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Wang, Huaimin

Post Doctoral Research Associate

huaimin.wang@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Wilkinson, Heather

Specializations: Adaptation To Extreme Environments, Biostatistics, Energy, Environment, Environmental Careers, Environmental Regulations, Human Capacity, Microbial Genetics, Population And Community Biology

Associate Professor

Graduate Faculty

h-wilkinson@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Yao, Guichun

Research Associate

guichun.yao@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Young, Sharmila

Student Assistant

sharmila_young@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Yu, Jiali

Research Specialist I

jialiyu@tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd
College Station, TX 77843

Yu, Junmyoung

Graduate Assistant - Research

junmyu@gmail.com

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Yuan, Joshua

Assistant Professor

shuhua.yuan@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120K
College Station, TX 77843

Yuan, Peiguo

Postdoctoral Research Associate

peiguo.yuan@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-6317 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Zhang, Huan

Postdoctoral Research Associate

huan.zhang@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843

Zhang, Peng

Postdoctoral Research Associate

peng.zhang@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

L.F. Peterson Building, Room 120
College Station, TX 77843

Zhang, Wan

Postdoctoral Research Associate

wan.zhang@ag.tamu.edu

979-845-7311 (p)

979-845-6483 (f)

496 Olsen Blvd.
College Station, TX 77843